IMC - International Media Center

 

Home   > Research Lab

The IMC Research Lab — Research Center for International Public Media

Due to the advancement of the Chair of Journalism and Communication Studies at the University of Hamburg, a first-class integration of theory and practice at the International Media Center is assured. The IMC therefore plays a decisive role: Here is where the knowledge about media systems in other countries, which forms the basis for the success of the IMC’s International Media Programs, is established.

The Chair of Journalism and Communication Studies has an excellent international reputation, acquired through research projects in the fields of journalism research and communication science in particular. The representative study “Journalism in Germany” explored, which players produce the journalistic information, what sort of characteristics German journalists exhibit as well as the conditions under which they work. The results of the project gained a lot of interest not only in scientific circles but also in practical ones. The study created a basis for detailed international comparative journalism studies.

The chair was likewise in charge of the research project “Contours of Current Media Communication”, which contributed to a better understanding of the transformative processes in the media system. It was a detailed and methodically diverse exploration of the peripheral areas of journalism to see what the future of contemporary media communication might look like. In particular, it analyzed genre-specific hybridizations, forms of media, stakeholders’ roles and the borders between journalism and public relations.

The international comparative journalism research at the IMC Media Lab focuses on two skill areas. The first compares the development of journalism, publicity and social change domestically and abroad. The second examines — also in a transnational comparison — contemporary journalistic communication processes in the context of political communication and public diplomacy.

The scientific research is linked directly with the IMC International Media Programs. In individual research assignments, the students become acquainted with the scientific methods and are taught how to analyze their collected data, how to interpret it and how to organize it in relation to their research. Assessing data, evaluating expert opinions, obtaining proposals for their own research projects — the IMC staff teaches all of these skills to the scholars as well as to the students from the University of Hamburg.

The staff research projects reflect the full spectrum of international media and communication research. In the past the studies focused mostly on topics such as journalism research, newsroom research, scandal research, recipient research, media ethics and questions of the fields of political communication and confidence research.

Under the direction of Prof. Dr. Siegfried Weischenberg, the following research projects have been carried out in the past, among others:

  • Inter- and Intratransaction in the Media Effects Process
    Examination of the Adjustment Process in Cognitive Systems of Communicators and Recipients in Local Elections:
    Four-part question panel of readers and journalists from three newspapers (around 4,000 interviews), content analysis (around 16,600 articles) (1984-1989, m. K. Schönbach, fieldwork: Emnid; sponsorship by the DFG on the subject of “News Media Effects”)
  • Skills and Technology (KoTec) journalism education for the information society
    Examination of Technology-Induced Social Changes and Their Consequences in Communications Processes in the FRG:
    Literature research, telephone interviews of media corporations, content analysis of help-wanted ads, Delphi opinion polls of media experts (3 phases) (1987-1991; sponsorship by the DFG)
  • Innovation and Investment
    International Comparison of the Circumstances of Newspaper Publishers:
    Literary evaluation, guideline conversations, written interviews (1991-1993; Project II.5b in the “Economics and the Future of Print Media” research program of the Austrian Ministry of Science)
  • Journalism in Germany (JouriD)
    Definition and Evaluation of News Media: headcount survey of the news media, representative opinion polls of 1,498 journalists in East and West Germany (1991-1994, fieldwork: GFM/Getas; sponsorship by the DFG)
  • The Contours of Contemporary Media Communication (KaMkom)
    Differentiation and Dedifferentiation of Specific Structure Benefits of Journalism in the Information Society:
    Comparative secondary analysis, expert interview (Italy, Switzerland), guideline interviews, input/output analysis, content analysis, observation (2000-2002; sponsorship by the DFG)
  • Journalism in Germany (JouriD II)
    Definition and Evaluation of the News Media: headcount survey of the news media, representative opinion polls of 1,536 journalists (2003-2007, m. A. Scholl, fieldwork: Ipsos; sponsorship by the DFG)

In addition, a current research project of the IMC Media Lab titled, “On the Trail of Max Weber: Inventory of Empirical Journalism Research 1910-2010″ examines the emergence and the development of international journalism research, which has established itself as a scientific discipline since Weber’s working draft for an “Inquiry of the Press”.

Contact: Prof. Dr. Siegfried Weischenberg

IMC Newsletter
© 2017 International Media Center (IMC) · HAW Hamburg · Finkenau 35 · D-22081 Hamburg · FAQ · Imprint · Terms of Use

IMC - International Media Center

 

Start   > Research Lab

Das IMC Research Lab – Forschungszentrum zu internationalen Medienöffentlichkeiten

Dank seiner Förderung durch erfahrene Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler von Hamburger Hochschulen ist eine erstklassige Theorie-Praxis-Integration im International Media Center gesichert. Im IMC Media Lab wird das Wissen über Mediensysteme in anderen Ländern geschaffen, das die Grundlage für den Erfolg der IMC-Medienprogramme bildet.

Die Idee für das IMC Media Lab wurde unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Siegfried Weischenberg vom Lehrstuhl Journalistik und Kommunikationswissenschaft der Universität Hamburg entwickelt. Einen exzellenten internationalen Ruf hat es sich insbesondere durch Forschungsprojekte in den Feldern der Journalismusforschung und der Kommunikationswissenschaft erworben. In der repräsentativen Studie „Journalismus in Deutschland“ wurde untersucht, welche Akteure journalistische Aussagen produzieren, welche Merkmale Journalistinnen und Journalisten in Deutschland aufweisen und unter welchen Bedingungen sie arbeiten. Die Ergebnisse des Projekts fanden nicht nur in der Wissenschaft, sondern auch in der Praxis große Beachtung. Die Studie schuf Grundlagen für detaillierte internationale Vergleichsstudien zum Journalismus.

Zum besseren Verständnis der Transformationsprozesse im Mediensystem trug auch das ebenfalls vom Lehrstuhl verantwortete Forschungsprojekt „Konturen aktueller Medienkommunikation“ bei. Es untersuchte in Grenzbereichen des Journalismus eingehend und methodisch vielfältig, wie die Zukunft aktueller Medienkommunikation aussehen kann. Analysiert wurden insbesondere genrespezifische Hybridisierungen, Medientypen, Akteursrollen und die Grenzen zwischen Journalismus und Public Relations.

Die international vergleichende Journalismusforschung am IMC Research Lab konzentriert sich auf zwei Kompetenzfelder: Das erste Kompetenzfeld vergleicht die Entwicklung von Journalismus, Öffentlichkeit und gesellschaftlichem Wandel im In- und Ausland. Das zweite Kompetenzfeld untersucht – ebenfalls im transnationalen Vergleich – aktuelle journalistische Kommunikationsprozesse im Kontext von politischer Kommunikation und Public Diplomacy.

Die wissenschaftliche Forschung ist direkt mit den Medienprogrammen des IMC verknüpft. In eigenen Forschungsarbeiten lernen die Studierenden die Methodik wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens kennen und werden darin geschult, gewonnene Daten zu analysieren, zu interpretieren und in den Forschungszusammenhang einzuordnen. Daten beurteilen, Expertenmeinungen einschätzen, Anregungen für eigene Forschungsprojekte gewinnen – all das wird auch den Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten sowie Hamburger Studierenden durch die Mitarbeiter des IMC Research Lab vermittelt.

Die Forschungsprojekte der Mitarbeiter spiegeln die Bandbreite der internationalen Kommunikations- und Medienforschung wider. In der Vergangenheit haben sich Studien unter anderem mit den Themen Journalismusforschung, Redaktionsforschung, Skandalforschung, Rezipientenforschung, Medienethik und Fragestellungen aus dem Bereich der politischen Kommunikation und der Vertrauensforschung befasst.

Unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Siegfried Weischenberg wurden in den vergangenen Jahren unter anderem folgende Forschungsprojekte durchgeführt:

  • Inter- und Intra-Transaktionen im Medienwirkungsprozess
    Untersuchung der Anpassungsprozesse im kognitiven System von Kommunikatoren und Rezipienten bei einer Kommunalwahl: Vierwellige Panelbefragung von Lesern und Journalisten dreier Tageszeitungen (ca. 4.000 Interviews), Inhaltsanalyse (ca. 16.600 Artikel) (1984-1989, m. K. Schönbach, Feldarbeit: Emnid; Förderung durch die DFG im Schwerpunkt „Publizistische Medienwirkungen“)
  • Kompetenz und Technik (KoTec)
    Journalistenausbildung für die Informationsgesellschaft. „Untersuchung des technikinduzierten gesellschaftlichen Wandels und seiner Folgen für Kommunikationsprozesse und Kommunikationsberufe in der Bundesrepublik“: Literaturrecherche, telefonische Befragung von Medienunternehmen, Inhaltsanalyse von Stellenanzeigen, Delphi-Befragung von Medienexperten (3 Wellen) (1987-1991; Förderung durch die DFG)
  • Innovationen und Investitionen
    Internationaler Vergleich der Situation in Zeitungsverlagen: Literaturanalyse, Leitfadengespräche, schriftliche Befragung (1991-1993; Projekt II.5b im Forschungsprogramm „Ökonomie und Zukunft der Printmedien“ des Österreichischen Wissenschaftsministeriums)
  • Journalismus in Deutschland (JouriD)
    Definition und Ermittlung journalistischer Medien Personalzahlerhebung in den journalistischen Medien: Repräsentativbefragung von 1.498 Journalistinnen und Journalisten in West- und Ostdeutschland (1991-1994, Feldarbeit: GFM/Getas; Förderung durch die DFG)
  • Konturen aktueller Medienkommunikation (KaMkom)
    Differenzierung und Entdifferenzierung spezifischer Strukturen und Leistungen von Journalismus in der Informationsgesellschaft: Komparative Sekundäranalyse, Experteninterviews (Italien, Schweiz), Leitfadeninterviews, Input-Output-Analyse, Inhaltsanalysen, Beobachtung (2000-2002; Förderung durch die DFG)
  • Journalismus in Deutschland (JouriD II)
    Definition und Ermittlung journalistischer Medien; Personalzahlerhebung in den journalistischen Medien: Repräsentativbefragung von 1536 Journalistinnen und Journalisten (2003-2007, m. A. Scholl, Feldarbeit: Ipsos; Förderung durch die DFG)

Zudem untersucht ein aktuelles Forschungsprojekt mit dem Titel „Auf den Spuren von Max Weber: Inventar empirischer Journalismusforschung 1910-2010“ am IMC Research Lab die Entstehung und Entwicklung der internationalen Journalismusforschung, die sich seit Webers Arbeitsskizze für eine „Enquete über das Zeitungswesen“ als wissenschaftliches Arbeitsfeld etabliert hat.

Ansprechpartner: Prof. Dr. Siegfried Weischenberg

IMC Newsletter